When I was a kid, I had a new book almost every week if not every couple of days. It was my escape from reality. Now as an adult, I realize that it wasn’t necessarily a good thing to do, but it’s what I did. When things got crazy at home, I would find a quiet place to read and just be there for hours. If you find your kid in the tub with a blanket reading a book, they are not the only one, just know you have a dedicated reader on your hands.

The most important thing to a reader is not that they have every book in the world in their possession at any given time. As a kid I had my own little library of probably 100 books at any given time because I’d give them to my friends to read, or I’d give them to a secondhand bookstore and use that money to buy another book. My point is though, they don’t need to own them all. They just need access to all the books they want. There are so many different ways to get books now days. Going to the library is an obvious one, but one thing that has come about since my childhood years, is e-readers. Libraries have e-books that you can rent and then they return themselves when it comes time. You never have to worry about late fees for your kiddo. Getting them some sort of device that has access to app downloads is all you need. Almost ANY tablet you get for your kiddo will have access to app downloads. The Libby app is what I use to get my books from the library. All you have to have is an active library card, and access to the internet and you’re good to go! The best part about all of this is, if you have multiple library cards to different libraries, you have access to every single one of those libraries from your device. The world is your oyster!

If your kiddo loves to have the physical book in their hand then I have a cheap and if not free way to get them all the books they want as well. Growing up with little to no extra money in the house meant that I didn’t get books except for on my birthday or holidays. As an adult I know that there are SO MANY different ways to get cheap books or even books for free to read. Cheap books, you can keep for your own library but if you are wanting them for free and just to read, the easy option is going to the library and checking out books. One clever way that I found from my sister which is a little on the fucked up side but it’s genius as well, she would go to Target or Walmart or wherever had the book that she was looking for. Buy the book. Now look at the return policy. Most of the time, there is a 30 day return policy for companies. As long as you return the book undamaged within those thirty days, you have successfully read that book for free before any of the libraries have it. This way is not for everybody. I’m not saying that I do it. I’m saying it’s a possibility and it’s a work around the system. And that my friends, I am completely here for.

Cheaper books are a little bit harder to find especially if you’re in a small town. If you’re in a small town, you might have a thrift store or something like that to look into. Bigger cities though are where it’s at for books! There are so many business chains that are explicitly marked down books and such. Hastings used to be the one that I went to all the time when I was a kid. I don’t know if they are still around because all of the locations around me have closed down. Half-Priced Books is another near me that I love. They have new releases as well so there is an opportunity for finding those as well. In Kansas City there are so many secondhand bookstores, it would be a very long post if I listed them all. Bigger cities also give you a chance to have a parent kid day. Go to the zoo or aquarium and then hit up a bookstore on the way home.

You’ve made it this far, and now it’s time for me to tell you what the most important thing you do for your little readers. For the love of all things good in the world, keep a notebook with every book and author that they read. Kiddos don’t think that they could ever forget such an amazing book that has become their Roman Empire but let me tell you. They will, because we did. Just one notebook will do, after awhile they will start keeping track themselves.

Bonus part that is also super important to your young readers. Ask them what they are reading, ask them what’s their favorite part so far. I have a vivid memory of when my dad asked me what my book was about and I was reading the Warriors series by Erin Hunter and I talked to him for the full 45 minute drive from my mother’s house back to his. Those core memories for me, and I think of them all the time. Plus the more that you ask your kiddo about what they are reading means you’ll get a feel for what new books they might like to explore. Even better, once they get a little bit older like middle school age I’d say, they are going to want you to read the books with them. Do buddy reads with your kiddo and have questions for them when you come together to talk to them about the book.

That’s all for now, you’re doing a great job already with your kiddo if you are here. Even if you’re not here, I know you’re doing the very best you can and that is all that anyone can ask for. Go out there and raise our next generation of readers.

Josie

Leave a comment

I’m Josie

I’m the voice behind Reading in Sweats. I’m so glad that you’ve found me! Take your coat off and stay awhile!

Let’s connect

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started